Haymount Presbyterian Church

2760 Rosehill Road
Fayetteville, North Carolina 28302-2512
(910) 822-1083

(Founded in 1874)

Haymount Presbyterian Church was organized in May 1874 through the efforts of Dr. H. G. Hill, Pastor of First Presbyterian Church of Fayetteville and the Rev. F. L. Montgomery, a black minister. Dr. Hill and Rev. Montgomery organized what was to become Haymount on the corner of Bradford Avenue and Branson Street on property owned by the federal government. The property on which the first church building was erected was sold by the federal government and the congregation then purchased a lot at the foot of Haymount Hill as the site for the new church.

The church had several leaders during the earlier years the Rev. F. L. Montgomery, Rev. Eli Walker and Dr. H. C. Mabry. Richard McNeill, Abram Pone, and Lewis Gill were the first Elders of Haymount. In 1905, under the leadership of Rev. T. T. Branch, the historic Haymount Hill edifice was erected. The architect and builder of the church was Dallas Perry, Sr., a noted craftsman in the Fayetteville area. His unique style and artistry were evidenced by the creative mixture of Gothic and Colonial architecture exhibited in the church structure. The church had a recessed double-paneled doorway, surrounded by paneling and surmounted by a square transom. Other details of the architectural style were the Gothic windows, dentil trim and scalloped facing to its three colonial dormers found on each side of the roof and in the steeples. On December 20, 1980, a fire from unknown causes completely destroyed the church.

The congregation continued to worship together until a new structure was completed on Rosehill Road in 1982. The first service in the new building was conducted on October 17, 1982. The present facility has a main sanctuary, classrooms, a library, an office complex, kitchen facilities and a fellowship hall.