Databases

ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
E-reference books on history, literature, pop culture and more.

Academic Search Complete
Articles from over 1,000 journals dating back to 1990.

Addiction & Substance Abuse (Salem Health)
Current medical information on addiction and substance abuse.

African American Poetry
Provides authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. At launch, the site will be comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.

African American Studies Center
The most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

American Poetry
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.

American Slavery
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews.

Ancestry Library Edition
Unparalleled collection of resources for genealogical and historical research. Includes more than 4000 databases.

Art & Architecture Complete
Magazines, journals, trade publications and books on art and architecture subjects including antiques, art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Collection of over 63,000 images.

Auto Repair Reference Center
Repair information for most major manufacturers and makes starting back to 1945.

Biography In Context
From Genghis Khan to Lady Gaga, Biography In Context provides quick and in depth biographical information.

Biography Reference Center
More than 450,000 biographies, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, U.S. Presidents, scientists and others.

Business Plans Handbook
Search for a specific business plan for nearly any type of business.

Business Source Complete
Journals, peer-reviewed publications, and magazines on topics including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.

CAMIO
A searchable collection of art images.

Cancer (Salem Health)
Up-to-date, easy-to-use medical information related to cancer. Select database from drop-down menu.

Careers in Healthcare (Salem Health)
Current information on careers in healthcare.

Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections
A digital index of full-text poetry and drama in the following categories: Pre-1900s African American Poetry, American Poetry, and English Poetry; The Faber Poetry Library (20th century poets); 20th century African American Poetry, American Poetry, English Poetry.

Chemical Elements
Information on the Periodic Table of Elements.

Chilton Library
Step-by-step instructions for car or truck repair and maintenance.

CINAHL
Covers nursing, alternative medicine, radiology, speech pathology, physical therapy, and more. Articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice.

Complementary & Alternative Medicine (Salem Health)
Current medical information on complementary and alternative medicine.

Consumer Health Complete
Information on aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs, alcohol, fitness, nutrition, dietetics, children's health, men and women's health and more.

CultureGrams Online Database
World cultural information for all ages from elementary school students to business travelers. Includes worldwide photo gallery, famous people, and unique recipes from around the world.

CQ Researcher
An account of today's issues with an overview of the subject, background, controversies and initiatives.

CQ Weekly
Complete coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and back room maneuvering.

English Poetry
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business, including key periodicals, reference books, case studies, company profiles and 600+ videos with transcripts from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.

Environment Complete
Journals on agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution, waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.

ERIC
Indexes over 750 education journals from 1966 to present. Includes full text of ERIC Digests from 1967 to present.

Faber Poetry Library
A collection of the most influential poets of the 20th century.

Forensic Science (Salem Science)
Articles on all aspects of forensic science.

Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Updated annually, includes over 25,000 full text records, covering an array of subject areas

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format.

Genetics & Inherited Conditions (Salem Health)
Full-text on over 450 topics in genetics and inherited diseases and conditions.

GreenFILE
Scholarly and general interest titles on environment and ecology.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer oriented health information on topics such as medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full-text to more than 400 medical journals, includes access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Heritage Quest
Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. For beginning or professional genealogists.

Historical New York Times
The New York Times archives from 1851 to 2000.

Infectious Diseases (Salem Health)
Current medical information on infectious diseases.

Infotrac Newsstand
Full text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as thousands of images and radio and TV transcripts. Includes full text of The New York Times (1985-present).

Intellect
Search U.S. and international company listings by industry, size, location, and other criteria to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds.

Job & Career Accelerator
Step-by-step job search help for all levels of job seekers. Explore career choices, create resumes, improve interview and work-related skills, and search over five million job postings.

Learning Express Library
A leading source of test preparation materials. Practice for academic, civil service, military, certification exams and more. Provides immediate scoring and analysis.

Legal Information Reference Center
Hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. Includes state-specific resources.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Journals and trade publications on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Literary Reference Center Plus
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.

Literature Resource Center
Biographical and critical content on literary figures from all time periods.

Little Pim
Fun language learning for children six years old and younger. To log in, click “Start Learning” on the Mango page or create an account to track your progress.

Magill Medical Guide (Salem Health)
Search here for up-to-date and easy-to-use medical information.

Mango Languages
Interactive, free language instruction for ESL and foreign languages. Includes Spanish, French, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, Japanese and more.

MAS Complete
Magazines, original historical documents, including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

MasterFILE Complete
General magazines, journals, and newspapers covering many subjects, includes peer-reviewed.

Middle Search Plus
More than 150 popular middle school magazines. Full text for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Includes Essential Documents in American History, Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of photos, maps and flags.

Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Fund and stock information for in-depth research.

MyiLibrary e-Books
Free downloadable books on a variety of topics including art, language learning, medical, health, history, and more.

NC Knows
Communicate with a librarian by typing messages back and forth, receive articles from NC LIVE, and get answers to your questions.

NC LIVE: Quick Search
Quick access to complete articles from over 16,000 newspapers, journals, and magazines, and more.

NC LIVE: Kids Search
Search magazines, newspapers, and books on topics such as history, science, literature, and current events for students in Grade 3 and higher.

Newspaper Source Plus
Indexing for many major newspapers. Full-text coverage for The Raleigh News & Observer.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Letters, diaries and materials depicting the experiences of women from Colonial times to 1950.

North Carolina Digital Library
Download bestselling audiobooks, e-books, music, and videos for all ages. Library card needed for remote access.

NoveList
Find new books based on books you've read or topics in which you are interested. Includes book reviews.

NoveList K-8 Plus
Reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. Its fun and intuitive interface helps integrate reading across the curriculum and support young readers. Searchable by author, title, series name, plot, and lexile level. Includes author read-alikes and lists of award-winners.

Points of View Reference Center
Pros and cons of today's most controversial issues from a wide variety of sources covering both sides of the political aisle.

Primary Search (Children's Magazine Search)
Includes articles from 35 children's magazines, encyclopedias and almanacs for kids.

Psychology & Mental Health (Salem Health)
Up-to-date and easy-to-use psychology and mental health medical information related. Select database from drop-down menu.

Regional Business News
Business journals and newspapers from metropolitan and rural areas in the U.S. Full text for most titles

Salem Health
Searches several medical encyclopedias published by Salem Press. Topics covered include cancer, alternative medicine, genetics, psychology, and addiction.

Salem Science: The Solar System
Up-to-date and easy-to-use information on our solar system, full-text reference material on astronomy, including planets, stars, sun and moon; meteorology, atmospheric sciences, climatology; and physics.

Sanborn Maps: North Carolina
Digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 towns and cities.

Science Online
All things science, including biographies of scientists, experiments, essays and diagrams on nearly any science topic imaginable.

Searchasaurus
Fun and easy interface for elementary and middle school students to search by keyword or topic.

Simply Map
Mapping application for non-technical users, yet powerful enough to answer complex research questions. Includes thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.

Small Business Reference Center
Information on small business and entrepreneurial subjects, common business types, help and advice. Learn how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes business lectures and 'how to' videos, as well as state-specific resources. Contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Detailed, user-friendly, repair guides for all manner of small engines.

Student Research Center
Magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, images, and encyclopedias on health, science, literature, current events, history, and more.

TumbleBooks
A library of animated, talking picture books that teaches kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love.

TumbleBookCloud Jr.
Designed for grades 3-6. Includes read-along chapter books, non-fiction books, graphic novels, audiobooks, and videos. Works on most tablets and smartphones.

Tutor.com
For students in grades K-12, professional tutors are online from 2 p.m. to midnight every day through any internet-enabled computer or mobile device. Individual tutors provide personal help in math, science, English, social studies and writing. Spanish speaking tutors available.

Wall Street Journal
Full text articles dating back to 1984.

WorldCat
Catalogs from more than 9,000 libraries around the world.

Zinio for Libraries
Free digital copies of your favorite magazines in full-color. Magazines in Zinio look just like they do in print. Apps available for iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, and Android.