First Baptist Church - Anderson Street

201 Anderson Street
Fayetteville, North Carolina 28301-5089
(910) 483-0477

(Founded in 1837)

The First Baptist Church of Fayetteville was constituted on November 25, 1837 with 28 charter members. Dr. David S. Williams and Dr. James McDaniel were the organizing ministers of this church. The one-room building was modified several times. Sunday School rooms were added. A pipe organ was installed and a tall steeple was erected. In 1906, the first church building was demolished. The present Romanesque brick structure was completed in May of 1910 under the leadership of Dr. J. J. Hall. Beautiful stained glass windows were installed in memory of some of the founding families.

On May 1, 1955, a new two-story educational building, which contains the library, gymnasium, choir room, church offices and classrooms was dedicated. The building was named in honor of the Building Chairman C. J. Williamson.

Rev. Glen Holt became pastor in 1969 and under his leadership, a child-care center, ministry to the deaf, and a youth ministry were started. A extensive renovation program was voted on in 1986 and was completed in 1987. The property was landscaped in 1991 for which the church received recognition from the Fayetteville Appearance Commission.

Throughout its rich history, First Baptist has continued to move forward and strives to meet the varying needs of a constantly changing membership in an ever-changing environment.