Cotton United Methodist Church

4514 Mill Street
Hope Mills, North Carolina 28348

(Founded in 1890)

Cotton United Methodist Church was formed in 1890 as Hope Mills Methodist Episcopal Church. The congregation originally met in the company store of Hope Mills Number Two, a local cotton mill. The church was part of the Cumberland Circuit of the Methodist Episcopal Church and their first minister was H. Mc. R. Jackson. Rev. J. D. Bundy became pastor in 1892.

The Hope Mills Manufacturing Company gave a tract of land to the congregation in February of 1893. The land was located on what is now the corner of Cameron Road and Mill Street. The deed stated that if the land should be used for any purpose other than as a place of worship, the mill would regain control of the land. The congregation built the wood fame sanctuary in the early 1890's.

Cotton Methodist Church has been remodeled twice, the first time in 1955. A wing of classrooms was added to the back of the sanctuary. The second time, the white frame church was bricked and a new steeple built. All construction other than laying of the brick was carried out by members of the congregation. The steeple was built and installed by Bod Johnson and Jim Johnson.

Over the years Cotton Methodist Church has organized many organizations such as the Women’s Society of Christian Service, the Men’s Club and a Methodist Youth Fellowship. Cotton United has a rich heritage. Their mission is to practice Christian love by enriching the spiritual life of the community, sharing Jesus’ love, and reaching out to others.